Free Samples

biaynamahari

I created a topic yesterday about this but it disappeared. I'm not sure how moderation works here so I'll try again. 

I've been contacted by a client - which I was very happy with, because I'm a newbie here. After discussing a few things they asked for a free sample. The price I charge here so far is very low compared to my normal life price, so I politely refused. 

So I wanted to ask if there is anyone who actually gives free samples and has seen any good outcome from that ? Isn't it a red flag not to work with a client that asks for free work ?

• Like 9
  • Thanks 1

4 minutes ago, biaynamahari said:

I created a topic yesterday about this but it disappeared. I'm not sure how moderation works here so I'll try again. 

I've been contacted by a client - which I was very happy with, because I'm a newbie here. After discussing a few things they asked for a free sample. The price I charge here so far is very low compared to my normal life price, so I politely refused. 

So I wanted to ask if there is anyone who actually gives free samples and has seen any good outcome from that ? Isn't it a red flag not to work with a client that asks for free work ?

Normally clients do ask for samples.

But not free work, probably its red flag. They are scammers, not buyer.

• Like 6
  • Up 2

I have never submitted a work sample to any buyer on the platform (even when I was a newbie here just like you). Always re-directed them to my gig gallery to check my work.

PS Your gallery looks compelling and has enough width in terms of samples. 

So to answer your query, avoid the freeloaders!!

• Like 6
  • Up 5
  • Thanks 2

8 minutes ago, biaynamahari said:

Isn't it a red flag not to work with a client that asks for free work ?

It is.