Why did the gigs I bought completely fail?

tonytallis

Hello. I am new to Fiverr. How unusual is my experience and what factors might explain it?

I’ve written and self-published a few books on amazon. In the last month, I did three gigs to promote these books on the internet. I reasoned that if thousands of people see the promotion, as claimed, I could reasonably expect at least a few sales. These three gigs have resulted in precisely zero sales so far and several weeks have passed.

Is this experience very common? I’m sure that nobody would buy gigs if it was, so assuming that the books aren’t manifestly rubbish, easily detected as such just by reading the blurb - since nobody has actually read the books themselves - what could explain this fail?

To be honest, I think that kind of mass publicity is a waste of time for something like a book. These services can work well (I run a pop-under ads website) for things like websites with attractive content etc.
I would suggest that you contact some blogs and ask if you can guest post with a link and mention of your book. Target blogs/sites that are relevant to your book and be realistic with what you are prepared to pay. There are a number of gigs like that on Fiverr, where you can post, guest post or advertise on blogs.

Advertising books is not easy and can take time.

The problem with assuming that if thousands see your promotions at least a few people will buy your books is the problem newbies to marketing always make. You don’t need thousands to see the promotions.
You need a hundred or two hundred people who are interested and looking for books on your subject to see your promotions. This is called targeted marketing.

You could have ten million people see your book promotions without even one sale.
But if you have a hundred people who are known to be interested in your subject matter look at your promotions you may get at least one sale.