Attachments via inbox

ingadavids

Question

Hi there

I have a question as I’m new to the platform. A buyer has personally messaged me via the Fivver inbox. He has attached a document with the specifications - is it safe/secure to open? Or is there another method that the buyer should attach documents (i.e. not via the fivver inbox)?

Any guidance would be appreciated

4 answers to this question

Guest hanshuber16

Hi there

I have a question as I’m new to the platform. A buyer has personally messaged me via the Fivver inbox. He has attached a document with the specifications - is it safe/secure to open? Or is there another method that the buyer should attach documents (i.e. not via the fivver inbox)?

Any guidance would be appreciated

Hello ingadavids,

First off, I really like that you came over to the forum instead of just opening the attachments and then creating a rant post on the forum later on saying you’ve had a bad experience on Fiverr. 😊

It is fine if the buyer sent you some files via the inbox. However, please don’t start working on any attachments the buyer sends via your inbox until they actually place an order with you. You will get a notification (and even an e-mail specifically saying you’ve received a new order from xyz buyer) if/when that happens.

The first thing I do before opening any attachment is to see the file extension. Is it an extension you recognize and does it make sense for that particular file to have that extension (be particularly weary of files that have a .exe extension as they could potentially be malicious).

The next step would be to run the file through a really good/standard, updated antivirus software. I only open the file after I’ve gone through all these steps. 🙂

is there another method that the buyer should attach documents (i.e. not via the fivver inbox)?