QUESTION FOR SELLERS (saved files)

mjaninea

Hello co-sellers!

I am a graphic designer and, as you can imagine, one work could mean having to save 5-6 files. And today I decided to delete the old files related to works I had delivered 2 months ago. So, I was wondering, how do you manage the files of your works/deliveries? Do you keep them? Do you delete them after tot ___ period of time?

I spring for Google Drive storage every month - it’s not a lot of money, I can deduct the cost, and you never know when you can use a snippet of an old piece of work (privately, as clients have purchased publishing rights usually) to showcase your strengths in a certain niche. I’ve never deleted anything I’ve produced on Fiverr 🙂

I’m sure some buyers would be delighted to think you might keep their files forever, just in case. I’m also sure some buyers would be horrified to think you might keep their files beyond a reasonable period of time - maybe only for the duration that an order is active for example. European GDPR regulations could come into play as well.

Maybe this is something that you could specify in your gigs? For example, “I will keep your source files for up to three months. They will then be deleted.” Or “If you wish me to keep your source files as the basis for any future projects, please let me know”.

When I did voiceovers, I kept my original recordings for ages before eventually deleting them. I kept them thinking a client might at some point want a remix, or to update a phone number or a tag line for example. Not once though did I have to use any of the original source files after the delivery of an order. In my experience, no client has ever come back to me to request working on an old project.