How do you manage your work?

paulmaplesden

The Fiverr work management system and dashboard looks like an effective way to manage orders, customers, and gigs in Fiverr. If all your freelance work in on Fiverr, it’s an effective way of staying on top of things.

For sellers who also freelance outside the platform, how do you stay on top of all the daily tasks, clients, orders, and creative work you need to do? I’ve been asking myself how to work more effectively for many years (I am a productivity geek). I use a set of online tools and automations to ensure I stay on top of all my work, no matter where it is.

In fact, I think it’s partly the ability to manage workload and deadlines effectively that makes a successful freelancer. In the three or so years I have been writing full-time, I have never missed a deadline. Here’s what my workflow looks like:

1. The work comes in, via Fiverr or from one of my regular clients.
  2. I book the work in my “Client Relationship Management” (CRM) system - this lets me make sure I keep regular contact with all my clients and lets me understand where all the possible work I have is in the pipeline. It also helps me develop customer relationships, which is vital for future work. The CRM I use is HubSpot CRM, which is free.
  3. I use an automation tool called “Zapier” to copy any booked work from HubSpot CRM into Trello.
  4. Trello is an amazingly simple project management tool and is the main place I track and complete work. It works on a concept of “Boards” (main workspace), “Lists” (buckets of work, e.g. today, this week, this month), and “Cards” actual work tasks (in this case, orders. Each card has the name of the order on one side together with the due date, and the details on the other.

Here’s my Trello setup.

trello.thumb.PNG.e0e1d6b9b6521c206c70d043855129e6.PNG
  1. I can view all of my work in either list or calendar view, making it easy to schedule my time and make sure I meet deadlines.