Always listen to your gut

magyarmelcsi

My post is intended for new sellers, maybe my story could be helpful to them when deciding whether to work with a client! I am an illustrator by the way.

So, the story: I was approached by a possible customer about two weeks ago. I told them my schedule was full for that week, but I can send her a custom offer with an extended delivery, and I can start working on the project the next week.

The offer was sent, and I received messages (without an active order) If I managed to start working on the sketch. This was the same week I voiced I am fully booked. I told them that no order was placed, therefore, even if I had the time, I could not start the project. I received no answer for 2 days, I withdrew the offer.

When the response came, I did send a new offer with the regular deadline the next week. At that, I received a message they want something entirely not related to the gig and not discussed previously. I also withdrew that offer and sent a new one with the new requirements.

At this point, I genuinely had a bad feeling about this, but hence I put energy into the conversations alone, I decided to work with her. Not smart!

I managed to send her the sketch, and the response to that was totally unacceptable in my opinion. She was missing things on the illustration that she did not tell me she wanted previously, she also basically demanded that I change the whole subject of the image.

I told her to either cancel, or make changes within the scope of the order, and if she needs extras that was not paid for, those extras will cost more.

I am currently waiting for her answer, but honestly, after all this, this is just a big headache for me, and I would rather cancel.

My point is, if you feel something is off in the beginning, do not accept orders just because you already put in effort!

First of all, I’m sorry you had to go through this.

Having that said, from my past experience, whenever I have a bad experience with a