Total Writer Brain Death - Have You Experienced It?

cyaxrex

This might apply to designers too. However, as I’m not a designer, I don’t know.

In short, I have been staring for 3-hours at the last two paragraphs of an article about kitchen renovations and I just can’t find a way to go on. I need to write 50 more words and the nightmare is over. However, everything looks and sounds wrong and my brain simply can’t spit the words I need out.

Part of me is also cringing at the idea of scrolling to the top of the page to read over what I have got already. This is because I know that when I do, the whole thing is going to read like it was written by a dyslexic person from the 16th Century, smashing their hands bewilderedly against my laptop keyboard.

My creativity is completely failed me. It’s not like writer’s block. It’s more like some kind of catastrophic creative aneurysm.

Of course, I still have 4-hours to muddle through. But do any other writers experience this from time to time?

Take a short break. You’ll do it.

Kitchen renovations are not for the faint of heart but they can also be very rewarding when you see your beautiful new kitchen, looking even better than your original vision for it. Your beautiful new cabinets and appliances will bring joy and comfort each time you wake up and make your morning coffee.

Don’t worry if it sounds wrong; you will probably have a revision request anyway.

I don’t know about others but for me when I design something, sometimes I end my staring at the screen for a long time because I can’t come up with the right color palette. Whichever I use, nothing seems to satisfy me.

One of the think that works is stopping work at that time and to do something which have nothing to do with designing. Couple of hours refreshes my mind or several days until I feel like working on it again. Another thing I usually do is browse others work on instagram or dribble. It motivates me to keep going.