How often does someone steal/copy your gig?

johanna2353

I’ve been on fiverr for about a month and I really enjoy the website. However, I’ve noticed that I’ve had to report somebody at least once a week for copying or stealing my gig word for word. At first, I was shocked and angry, then I realized this happens to almost everyone on fiverr lol. Most of the time it’s just some “guy from Bangladesh” who steals my gigs. I’m just curious, how often does this happen to you guys? And do you think it affects your sales? Thanks in advance for any tips/info. 🙂

Hi,

I’ve been writing for more than 10 years now; not here, but on other sites. This happens all the time…people taking ideas from other people. There really isn’t anything you can do about it. A title cannot be copyrighted, so we can take any title and write something. But…the beauty of it is, the subject matter, quality of work, and professionalism. Basically, we have to make ours stand out by being better. Use our creativity and imagination. It doesn’t matter if someone offers the exact same gig as you or I, because not only will the work be different, ours will hopefully be better. Someone looking for the best will choose “the best”, even if someone else offers the same service. Best of luck.

Reply to @lierrebridges: I agree! I guess the downside is the buyers getting ripped off. Also, it’s not really a big deal when a lot of people have a similar gig that offer the exact same thing; it just upsets me when they steal it word for word from the title to the description. I feel like that will confuse customers and end up hurting sales.

You can report gigs that are copied word for word to CS. They’ll probably tell you that they can’t tell you what they do with the copy cat gig, but every time I’ve reported someone who’s just copied and pasted my description, picture, and title (with my name in them, no less!), the gig was gone within a few days.

• 1 year later...