Fear and Loathing at the Music Store

damooch916

Remember the importance of “The Music Store?”

It was this museum of intricate machinery. “On” buttons blazed from every corner and electronics hummed at you in all directions.

When I was a young musician, we had a different musician language than we have today. We talked about paying dues, learning space and searched the earth to find “bass player” jokes that the lead guitar player had never heard. These were the hallmarks of the touring band. We yelled out the Nashville number system in real-time during live shows and we argued about the best system of wrapping cables.

I mention this because the job was great. Staff writing, tour playing, song pitching … these were the best jobs on earth. But there was one job that seemed even more exclusive:

Music Store Guy.

Music store guy was cool. He was a mythical figure that manifest from our deepest projections. Or from someone’s couch.

He always looked bored. As though he were serving a lifetime sentence where the judge had ruled “death by auditory depreciation from amateur guitar auditioning.”

He wore jeans to work and rocked his brown leather coat on the hottest of hot days. Music Store Guy could discuss the intricacies of keyboard cartridge trading, while wearing ray-bans in doors and fidgeting with his silver arm bracelet and none of this was out of place.

Music Store Guy was NOT impressed with you. Not your chops, not your gigs and definitely not your money.

“Oh, you’re Art Tatum, back from beyond the grave to try out our Korg selection? Big deal Art Tatum. I’m Music Store Guy

Music Store Guy could undo your entire life’s work just by turning on some equipment, demonstrating the features and playing a riff for ten seconds.

He was better than you.

Not to mention, this guy worked 12 hours a day, had six kids from three different girlfriends and still had better gigs than you. Plus he was twenty. Or fifty. It was hard to tell.