Some Voice Acting Tips

patsvoice

I am new to Fiverr.com but I am not new to the world of Voice Acting, and I wanted to part a few words of wisdom for my Fellow VO brothers and Sisters.

Practice! - First and foremost read out loud as often as possible and do your best to sound conversational. Try to use your eyes and always be a few words ahead of your voice. This will allow smoother transitions when ending or beginning sentences.

Work the Mic - In order not to pop your "P"s or Slam those "S"s, learn how to “work your mic”. Slightly turn your head so that your sound does not hit the mic right up front. Some of us also use our fingers or a pencil to split the air as it comes out, on letters like “P”.

Mouth Noise - Mouth noise is alway a problem when beginning. Most often it is caused by dehydration or cotton mouth. Some people use spearmint gum. Some people use lozenges, some use Granny Smith (Green) apples. Keep water with you and stay hydrated.

These are just a few short suggestions for beginning voice over talents who are looking to impress their clients.

Have a Wonderful Week!

-Pat

Isn’t the point of a pop filter to reduce plosives? I mean, sure – pencils and fingers to split air are probably useful and much cheaper, but I picked up a pop filter for about $8 and it’s significantly helped my recording. It’s so strong that if I blow as hard as I can through the filter, I can’t feel any breeze on the other side!

The /s/ though… Ever since I started doing voice work I’ve paid more attention to the sound of advertisements and shows or movies. Sound natural while reducing sibilants is pretty tricky and just takes some work.