How to tell if a buyer is legit or a spam?

jasmineasbury

Question

I'm new to this platform and so far I've had 2 accounts message me about my gig.  One user requested my zip code and personal contact info.  The other is offering to pay after services are rendered, I'm assuming outside of this platform.  My question is, how can I see if the user is real and not a scammer before I take the time to read and respond to their message?  Is there a way to screen buyers?

6 answers to this question

14 minutes ago, jasmineasbury said:

One user requested my zip code and personal contact info.  The other is offering to pay after services are rendered

That is exactly how you can tell.

15 minutes ago, jasmineasbury said:

My question is, how can I see if the user is real and not a scammer before I take the time to read and respond to their message?  Is there a way to screen buyers?

Check their profile, see how long they've been on the platform and if they had any orders before. Just keep an eye out for red flags, scammers love to prey on new sellers.

In the Terms of Service, Fiverr details how the site works. Genuine buyers will generally want to work in accordance with those rules. They won't want you to get banned or be left financially exposed.

In addition to that, they typically won't ask you to do something that is completely outside the scope of your offering, such as send pictures, chat on social media, or join another website.

Welcome to the platform! So there's not a real step-by-step handbook to follow in order to determine whether a buyer is a scammer. First of all, as @gajuseidinoted the fact that they want to communicate/pay outside of the forum is definitely a red flag. And you should never do that, otherwise your account will be warned/suspended!