My experience of increasing prices

I thought it might be useful to share my experience of increasing my prices.

For those that don’t know me, I’ve been selling on Fiverr for the past eight years. I have 500+ 5* feedback ratings. I’ve seen just about every scam possible on Fiverr. I’ve also had many totally amazing buyers. Like many I started selling $5 gigs, and then realised I was way too cheap. For about six years my main gig has started at $10. However, earlier this year I increased my fee to start at $15.

I increased my price for four reasons: 1) I saw other sellers with less experience / feedback also charging $10 and achieving orders. 2) I started to notice a few less serious buyers purchase my gig (for new sellers, this is a warning sign that your prices might be too cheap). 3) Six years is a long time to hold a price when cost of living has gone up. 4) All of the three reasons combined made me feel disheartened that I was working hard but I wasn’t getting the financial reward based on experience.

The result? My orders have fallen away by about three-quarters! Yes, my orders are down massively. Even though I am making more money per order - overall my revenue has more than halved. But, you know something? I’m feeling good about this. And this is my reason for posting >>>>> although I am generating far less income now, the money I do receive through Fiverr is at a rate I am much happier with. It’s made me fall back in love with Fiverr again. The orders that I do get are from buyers who are more serious and want a quality result, and I feel fresh with each new order.

To my friends on the forum, I’m not going to be posting regularly but I’m still on Fiverr. Stay safe.