From Low to Pro

leannelrivers

I want to share a little slice of my journey and offer some nuggets of advice that have served me well personally and professionally.

I've been self-employed since I graduated from acting school in 2010. I worked constantly in theatre in London for a couple of years after that but didn't earn nearly enough to live, which is unheard of for an actor, right? Fast forward a couple of years and my move to Germany. I could not get my foot in the door with any directors or even other creatives. This definitely had to do with the small city I'd moved to (and since left). No outsiders thank you, especially talented ones, at least that's how it felt to me, boo-hoo.

So there I am. In a foreign country, zero grasp of the language yet and my acting career going nowhere. Oh, and my identity in crisis because WHO AM I WITHOUT MY WORK?! Without the constant flow of acting work, I had no characters to hide behind and I was really forced to take a good look at myself and peep beyond the blinkers I had on. What other paths could I maybe try treading?

I got into photography as a hobby and started working in a blues bar taking pictures of the bands. I started to make little art videos and started writing scripts. Terrible scripts, but I was doing something at least. These creative outlets woke me up again and I decided to move to Berlin where the action was. I will absolutely, definitely, undoubtably get lots of acting work there, said I. Two years and two bad short films later, I was back in crisis and my bank account was cobwebby and full of ghosts.