Fiverr Newbie is payment first, or work first then payment?

dataalchemy

I am new to Fiver and sort of have my first new gig. I’m so excited I would almost do it for free just to get the experience and add to my portfolio. But just almost. I do actually want to get paid. The buyer hasn’t paid yet, however is acting like she expects me to do the work. What is the culture here. Am I’ supposed to get paid first, or am I supposed to do the work first and then get paid? Thanks for your help.

Guest humanissocial

We know how it works because we read the rules and you can do that, too. The forum isn’t a substitute for research.

You are required to read and understand the ToS before your register. So you said you read and understood them even though you didn’t.

You can’t succeed without taking initiative and researching. Don’t ask us to do your homework for you.

Sorry about that. I will do that. I just don’t want to mess up. Look like I’m off to a bad start here on the community board. I will do my research and homework to see how to proceed. My apologies. I guess I have my answer so I don’t want to further embarrass myself so I will see if I can delete this.

The Terms of Service will literally save your Fiverr career. Seller places an order, you start working on it after you get the notification. Don’t share personal contact info of any sort, it doesn’t matter if it’s a phone number, email address, or social media link.

I could go on and on but it’s best if you read it for yourself and soak it all in.

Guest humanissocial

Sorry about that. I will do that. I just don’t want to mess up. Look like I’m off to a bad start here on the community board. I will do my research and homework to see how to proceed. My apologies. I guess I have my answer so I don’t want to further embarrass myself so I will see if I can delete this.