Don't Break The Law! GDPR for Freelancers

smashradio

frank_d
This post was recognized by frank_d!

"Great content, very useful!"

smashradio was awarded the badge 'Great Content' and 50 points.

All businesses, including us freelancers, have to make sure we protect our clients data. Maybe you haven't thought of it before, but as a freelancer on Fiverr, you might deal with lots of information that could require you to take action in regards to the privacy laws like GDPR. 

Full disclosure: I'm not a lawyer or legal professional, nor am I an expert on GDPR! These are simply tips based on my experience and advice I've received in the past, that have helped me form a stronger defence when it comes to data safety. 

You most likely work with some form of personal data

What type of information you deal with depends on your niche here on Fiverr. GDPR is about more than just hitting "I understand" on those annoying cookie banners you see everywhere online. 

We are, in fact, a small business when freelancing, so the privacy laws applies to us as well. The consequences of violating GDPR can be enormous. We're talking fines, loss of reputation and legal action taken against you. 

You're not really protected by or covered by Fiverr's Privacy Policy as a seller on Fiverr. 

Here's what Fiverr has to say about the information that is shared with third parties (like you) on the platform:

TL;DR: Information you give to anyone else on Fiverr, including sellers, is controlled by that seller. You are required to keep this information confidential, and Fiverr puts this responsibility on each buyer/seller.