The First Few Months

Guest kirstenm

Guest kirstenm

I’ve been working on Fiverr for a few months now and here’s what I’ve learned.

1. Be yourself and let others do their own thing.

No one operates in the exact same way you do. Not everyone will communicate like you or as frequently as you would like. Not everyone is as detailed oriented or organized and so on. Don’t get frustrated if someone isn’t the same as you. Just be yourself in the most respectful way possible and let other people do the same.

1. It’s okay to say no.

If there’s something that you feel is too much for you to handle, you don’t have to do it. I wouldn’t make it a habit of turning away every project that seems too hard, so choose wisely. Know what you’re capable of doing and don’t stress yourself out.

1. It’s okay to take a break.

No one is a robot that can work all day without stopping. Take time for yourself - eat, sleep, and do something fun. Buyers will understand that you are only human. Sometimes a 24-hour turn around is just not possible.

1. Communication is key.

Always communicate with your buyers and let them know what’s going on or if you have any questions. They will certainly appreciate it! Take out all the guess work and make sure you fully understand what the buyer wants. I don’t think anyone likes a seller that just disappears either. For projects that take longer than you expected, you may want to send the buyer a message that tells them you’re still working hard!

1. Always be respectful.

There may be times when you deal with an angry or unreasonable buyer, but don’t lose your cool! Stay professional. Your tone may come off wrong through your message, so be careful what you say.

1. You might lose a buyer.