Tips from a 500+ Buyer

timmbbo

I’ve probably purchased from you! For me, Fiverr has become a great assisting resource to help market my small business and website, and have a bit more fun in life. I’ve never been on your end of the transaction, so I’m not experienced with your daily challenges, but from my cumulative experience, my advice on how to operate better:

1. Adding details after the purchase. It burns me when I fully read a gig description, purchase, and then the seller places additional parameters on the gig. For instance, a gig describes running a banner ad on his website for a week. Then, after I order, the gig details specifies the banner must be in skyscraper format. Or, another gig will perform a 30 second video testimonial, which I order. Then, the gig details specifies no more than 50 words. Well, my talking rate is 120 words per minute, so 30 seconds works out to 60 words for me, not 50 words.

2. Not responding to negative feedback properly. I see sellers go one of two ways, either ignoring it, or thrashing back with insults and accusations. Instead, just the high road and just let me know that you care, i.e., “Despite reasonable efforts, I was unable to satisfy the buyer.” I can read through the context and realize this translates into, “The buyer is a butthead who made a bunch of unreasonable demands after purchase, and wanted the work of four gigs for the price of one. I wasn’t going to let him extort me on threat of negative feedback, so here we are…”