Reasonable Expectations

inventorguru

The work I received is unusable. The designer put in the time but just didn’t “get it.” I suggested he refund the fee but he says he put in the time. What’s common practice on fiver? In my own biz I refund $$$ anytime someone requests it. Years ago, I was a commercial photographer working on a product shot I never gave up until the client was satisfied - the fee wasn’t the point - it was a matter of professional pride.

Is fiver a home of mediocrity or do people take pride in what they do?

This is a tricky one. If a Fiverr seller puts in the time as you say they have, then I believe the TOS state that you as a buyer can’t reject the work due to your preference regarding the finished result. You can, however, voice the fact that your expectations have not been met in your review of the sellers service.

Unfortunately, Fiverr is not like the real world where you can complain to a business owner or manager if you don’t find the work which you request suitable, each seller is a sole contractor and it’s no secret that a lot of buyers attempt to get free work by saying that they simply don’t like a piece before going on to use it anyway.

As a buyer, your best option in this case, will likely be to see if you can explain your brief better to your seller and see if they will revise the work. Either this or pay, ask for the source files and find someone else who can amend the work in question until it better meets your expectations.

I’ve had nothing but success buying on fiverr, but my most recent experience has me looking for other options.