I'm new on Fiverr and my first buyer is acting quite weird, help!

bleachedsharona

Hello there, guys.

This is my first time on Fiverr and I’m still a bit lost using it, but few days ago I got my first buyer, this person said that is a “best seller” writer and that he’s looking for an Illustrator to illustrate his next book.

This is not exactly what I’m offering, but is ok because at the end of the day I can do what he’s asking for.

The thing is that, he haven’t make the order, but he keeps insisting about how wanderful the drawing is going to look, sending pictures for references and giving me details. The other day I asked him really politely to make the order for me to start drawing, for a moment I thought he didn’t know how it works, like me, and I explained to him…and he said he has done at least 80 transactions on fiverr before and worked with many illustrators, but he wants only one now.

He said "he wants to know first what can I do and then he’ll decide"

I even made another comment about a custom offer, because what he’s asking for is quite more work than I’m actually offering, to what he said "But 10$ is the max per drawing!"

Anyways, maybe I’m being paranoid, but…why if he has done other trasactions in the past, he stills without making the order? Does that means that if I send him my sketch, I could not get paid?

And, if he has being working with so many illustrators, why he’s interested in my work now? What he’s looking for is not what I’m offering and I’m not really showing something like that on my photo gallery.

Am I being paranoic?

Hi @bleachedsharona, I’m glad you reached out to us on the Forum for help! Whatever you do, DO NOT do business with this person. This is an example of someone who is trying (already) to take advantage of you. In the best case, you will end up wasting hours and hours for someone who will be blackmailing you with the threat of a negative review, and in the worst-case this may happen AND he could still leave you one.