If It's Artificial, It Probably Ain't Good

Guest petrosianii

Guest petrosianii

I am a professional marketer who has done SEO consulting for Fortune 500 companies. And I’m here to tell you this: If it’s artifical, it probably isn’t good for SEO.

What do I mean? Here are some common examples: artificial Google Pluses, Artificial Facebook Likes, Artificial Traffic Generation, Artificial Twitter Followers, 1000 backlinks in 48 hours, etc., etc.

Why are these generally not good for SEO?

It’s very simple: GOOGLE CAN FIGURE OUT THAT IT’S FAKE, MANIPULATED, NOT ON THE UP-AND-UP, etc.

Believe me, they can. I’ve met Matt Cutts personally. I’ve spoken to Google people. I’ve been in web marketing for quite some time. I’ve been to the Search Engine Strategies conferences, the SMX conferences, the PubCon conferences, the SEMPO events, the AdTech conferences. I make a living doing this stuff.

So trust me when I say that if you think Google engineers cannot build algorithms that can detect “fake”, you’re wrong.

Google does not like fake. Google does not like Artificially generated. And they will typically not give any value to these artificial search marketing schemes. And in some cases, they’ll hurt you for it.

Back in the day, when SEO was all about backlinks and PageRank, enterprising souls were popping up out of the woodworks to sell “1000 backlinks an hour fly by night services”. Google cracked down on this, to the point where, today, this tactic is worse than useless.

Now, the chief ranking signals are not links, but they are social signals, and reputational signals, more or less. So, guess what has happened? Enterprising souls are popping up out of the woodworks to sell “1000 FB likes in 48 hours fly by night services”. Notice a pattern here?

Of course, you’d have to have been in the biz for some time, to be able to have a historical perspective on this stuff.

So please, do yourself a favor: Stick to the best practices in marketing: