EQUIPMENT Advice for a Seller in unfamiliar territory!

david388

Hi everyone! As some of you guys know, my Fiverr Gigs are mostly focused around writing/editing offerings, in addition to business consultation services. But since Fiverr has become my main outlet in life for enjoying my non-medical passions, I’ve been considering launching some new music-related Gigs, too.

I’ve been playing violin since I was 5 years old (that’s 26 years, people!!), and have plenty of experience playing in solo performance, orchestral, improv, jazz, etc. I have almost ZERO experience, however, in recording myself or mixing my audio!

Do any of you guys have advice about some budget-friendly equipment I should invest in, and what software might be best for a newbie? For microphones, I’ve been looking at the “Blue Microphone” series - especially the Yeti, since it plugs into the USB port. For software, I have a Macbook Pro, which comes with ::shudder:: GarageBand, but since I haven’t learned that software yet, I’d be just as willing to learn a different program.

Any thoughts / advice / input would be super-appreciated!

David

This probably isn’t much help, but ::shudder: GarageBand is very easy to work with if nothing else. I used it to cut songs to go along with dance choreography (though, like you, I simply used it for want of a better program). You could always start your gig with basic software that simply gets the job done but not to a world-class, as long as you specify that in the description.

Best of luck with the new gig! I bet you’re one hell of a violinist after 26 years!

Hi David 🙂

Wow 26 years! So don’t hesitate to use it. If you haven’t got any experience recording and mixing, you can offer what you are familiar with first, maybe accessing a studio so they can do the rest. It would not make much of a profit at first but after a while, you will gain experience and recording will be much easier 🙂