How to Build a Business on Fiverr

zackreynolds

If you spend any amount of time on the Fiverr forums, you will see relentless posts from new sellers wanting to know how to turn the gig they just posted into a full-time business immediately. They may not realize that is the question they are asking, but people want to know... how do I get more orders, now!

At the root of these questions is a fundamental misunderstanding of how Fiverr works and is intended to work.

I have been selling on Fiverr for about two years now. I became eligible for top-rated recently, and I'm hoping to achieve that honor shortly. All this to say, I'm not just blowing smoke.

With that being said, here are a few of my observations:

#1: You cannot open a seller account on Fiverr and expect it to be a full-time business right away

The way Fiverr works and is intended to work is built on seller reputation. And just like the real world, reputation takes time to build. When I first started my Fiverr business, orders were few and far between, and so I relied on my main job to provide my income and worked on Fiverr on the side. I faithfully responded to messages when they came in, and did the best job I could on the orders I received. I adapted when gigs I did not originally think were going to be popular started getting more attention and orders, and spent many hours learning new skills so I could get better at what I was doing. Over time, my reputation began to grow and I became more and more busy until I was able to transition to doing Fiverr full-time earlier this year.

#2: There are no shortcuts that will lead to long-term success