Being a Seller : The Fiverr Voyage

anish000kumar

I have been working as a freelance graphic designer for a few months now, but I was looking for a bit different platform to showcase my unique style of illustration. I think Fiverr had it everything I was looking for. So, I started out fresh on this site…but soon realised that it’s not going to be an easy nut to crack 🙂 Millions of gigs and thousands of designers …all competing at the same place…well … the stats are enough to perturb a newbie. But thankfully there’s nothing as hectic as it seems. Finally, I created a few mock ups and placed them together as a ’gig’ with required information and tags. Seeing the tough competitions among sellers I didn’t really expect the orders to come for initial few weeks.

But Whoa… just within 3 hours I had the first order! I went for it and delivered it within 7 hours. The following day I received the ‘first positive feedback ‘ , with the client saying “Incredible and Awesome!”. No doubt …getting such great comments …that also on first day after you initiate a new gig… it really feels great. Just after the completion of this order, the same client ordered three gigs in a row.(It made me realize that I was doing something really amazing……its actually a remark by one of my clients at fiverr )

Well so far I was getting orders by a single client only, so I was a bit perturbed …whether my gig is reaching the potential clients ? But , the next day I literally saw a flood of orders… 6 orders within 5 hours…and they were still increasing. I later realized that fiverr had featured my gig at its homepage…🙂 So , that’s where people found me and I got a really great start. Orders kept on increasing and I had to constantly increase the time limit for delivery. Initially when I had started out it showed ”2 days on Average”. But just within 3 days I had to change it to “14 days on Average”….why? Because I had 12 pending orders to deliver.