Why should I use Fiverr?

summitdesign

Hello all, I am a new member. I signed up because this sounded very interested. I am a graphic designer trying to generate some business. I took a quick stroll through the site and looked at others’ services, and I’m absolutely shocked at the pitiful prices people are charging for graphic design. Why should I sell my skills that I worked hard for, for dirt cheap?

And why do people on here, feel comfortable charging so little for their work? Not only does it hurt the graphic design field as a whole, but also the designer who is asking much less than they deserve.

I don’t mean to be negative, or critical, but I honestly don’t understand…

This is a really good question, asked in a reasonable manner by someone who is genuinely interested in how things work here so I am going to put some time into my answer.
I don’t work in the same field as you but I am accused of hurting the industry that I work in. My response to that is that I believe competition drives innovation and so competition actually helps industries in the long run. The ones who are hurt are those who overcharge and underdeliver. They end up with less work. The industry itself becomes more advanced and better.

I earn a full time wage between Fiverr and other platforms and Fiverr has recently become my biggest earner though. I live in a relatively high cost Western country - Ireland. I offer a service, my main one, which is between 50-70% less than the “professional” or agency fees. Even so, you can also find people who charge half my price on Fiverr! Whether they are of the same quality as me, whether I am of the same quality as the professionals - I don’t know exactly. I would assume it varies, some are probably better, some are probably worse.