Planning on outsourcing? think again!

brandonmcfee

Hi everybody. Just wanted to share my experience on outsourcing my work on Fiverr. Hopefully, it will benefit even a handful of freelancers here. I work as a graphic designer and illustrator here on Fiverr and I have few successful gigs. One of my gigs is about drawing scenes for kids’ stories, and as you might have already guessed, such gigs are about working on long term projects. One day, I received a message from a very polite and classy buyer from the US. He writes stories for kids and asked me to work with him on a series of stories. I finished the first story with him professionally and did everything my self (layout design, text formatting, making illustrations for the whole story and preparing the file for the printing process). The buyer was very happy with the result and tipped me a HUGE tip! my client then messaged me about starting the new project. But I found my self flooded with work at my daily 9:5 job and had no spare time to work on the project. So, I decided to pass it to an “associate” who I thought was up to the job. We started very smoothly and my client was happy with the results. But after a while my associate started to deliver very late with a remarkably poor quality as if the work was made in just 5 minutes. My client got concerned and told me to find another artist to continue the work with a style very similar to the one we used! of course this’s an almost impossible task specially when you’ve already spent months in search for your priv. “associate”. So now, we have no choice but to continue working with such incompetent artist in order to avoid ruining the whole project. Results of such mistake are:
1-After having a delivered on time rate of 100%, now I have a 85% one.
2-My excellent relationship with the buyer started to suffer a lot and deteriorated.
My advice: