Buyer Requests 101

david_ff

I’ve been on Fiverr for a couple years now, and had great success as a seller. However, recently, I did something that I’ve never done before… I posted a buyer request.

Sure I’ve browsed gigs, and purchased some services, but I’ve never posted a job I needed completed until now.

As a successful seller, it was interesting to be on the other side of the coin.

Here’s what I learned that will help each of us be more effective when it comes to landing more jobs using the buyer requests tool that Fiverr has so graciously provided.

1. Personalize the offer. Every seller that I could tell just sent over a generic offer was immediately off the list. There were a few that personalized the offer and made me feel like they actually read what I posted.

Lesson: Take the time to read the gig and let them know you understand their request.

1. Don’t sound desperate. There were a few sellers that were practically begging for the work. I understand we’re all here trying to make some money, but if you come across too desperate, it doesn’t work in your favor.

Lesson: Be confident in your abilities and services. Don’t be arrogant, but don’t appear like nobody else is using your services.

1. Justify your value. If you are a level one, or brand new seller, the first inclination of a buyer will be to cross you off the list. That’s what I did… UNLESS… the lower level sellers somehow justified the value in their services despite their current level. I.E. “I know I’m just beginning here on Fiverr, but I’ve been designing logos for years, and have a graphic design degree.”

Lesson: Understand you are bidding against experienced sellers. If you’re a lower level seller, you need to justify your value, so that a buyer will feel comfortable working with you even though you don’t have a proven track record here on Fiverr yet.