How to translate $/hr into $/wordcount for editorial?

alexnoconnor

I’m a freelance editor new to Fiverr. On my own website, I offer my editorial services at $40/per hour of work, rather than per word(s). I am more comfortable charging by hour.

Here on Fiverr, it seems I can only offer my services at $/word?

I don’t want to have conflicting rates across different platforms, so is there any way to easily marry these two methods?

Thanks.

Fiverr does not offer hourly rates.
Everyone has different rates on different platforms according to the general prices paid on the platform, the platforms own fees and other variables. Consider that Fiverr takes 20% of your income so if you charge $40 for your service on Fiverr, you will get $32.

What I do doesn’t translate into something physical per gig very easily so I work out what I think I can do in half an hour/an hour and try to put that into Fiverr terms. Sometimes I get it completely wrong. I just spent a whole day on a job for $4. c’est la vie.

Anyway some points for OP to consider:

1. don’t link your Fiverr too closely to your “IRL” website. This place has a pretty cheap reputation, and your current “consistent” brand vision might not work for you in future. I’d keep it separate. But that’s up to you, of course.
  2. I use word count on here because everyone else does. TBH, it’s a PITA. Some articles or whatever just naturally finish before or after the arbitrary number. Over’s not an issue for me (“wow, she overdelivered!”), but there are some awful people out there who will pitch a fit over even 10 missing words (my advice: adjectives and famous people quotes–pointless and bad fluff, but if it keeps them quiet)