Does Fiverr send out 1099\'s? How do I do my fiverr taxes?

krissyandej

Hello, this is my first year on fiverr, and I don’t know if fiverr sends out 1099’s. I saw a couple of posts people have written about PayPal doing it, but I am not sure about that.

I figured the best people to know would be people that have actually done it before.
Any kind of information on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance everyone.

-Krissy- ;)

Fiverr does not send out tax forms. Sellers don’t work for Fiverr, they are self-employed workers using the Fiverr platform to run their own business. You can check with tax preparers or accountants in your location to find out how they want you to self-report your income. Where I live I can just check a box that says I need to report “other” income for which I did not receive a 1099. I add up my Fiverr earnings and enter the total.

Also, if you spent money on equipment, supplies or used office space in your home, those expenses may be tax deductible! 🙂

I don’t mean to use your thread but it really is the same question and the sellers answered them! But is it possible that we would owe money on taxes if they see how much I made? I love that it’s possible to write off my graphic river purchases and such. I see we have a function here on Fiverr on the Revenues page we can download a CSV, is this sufficient for the tax preparer?

You only need to declare income above $600 a year. Either way, Fiverr let’s you import your finances, or you can use PayPal to see how much money you’ve gotten. Remember that a good accountant should help you take every deduction. Deduct your cable bill, internet bill, etc. If you’re making serious money, don’t go to HR Block or one of those tax preparers, an actual accountant is what you need.