It's 2008 all over again....Beijing Stock Market Crash and Beyond

writer99025

There’s been a huge stock market crash in China, which has had a fallout all over the world. Oil prices are at their lowest point - normally this is a good thing, but it also indicates a slowdown in industrial activity. I have been a freelancer for just 2 years now, but in 2008 I was employed as a software consultant for an outsourcing giant based in Bangalore and lost my job because the client I was working for - a major bank in the US decided to downsize…so lowly paid consultants like me were thrown out. 2008 was a harsh time for many of us…now that I am a freelancer who writes for online businesses, I was wondering what impact a new global economic slowdown could have on the freelance industry. Will that mean that more people will lose jobs and there will suddenly be a glut of freelancers - as if there aren’t enough already? Will online businesses/websites decide to cut costs as well? Interesting times are ahead.

Brilliant post. I love people that think in the long term. From 2001 to 2012 I was employed by an international hotel chain which I worked from the ground up with to become a regional group manager. The best part was that with them I got to live everywhere from New Zealand to Thailand and quite a few places in between.

Anyway, when 2008 happened huge alarm bells started ringing for me. Not because I had investments or anything, but because I realized that the way the world was dealing with the crisis was completely mad. You see all western governments aside from Iceland decided to buy all the bad consumer debt at the time (think bank bail outs) and start printing money and borrowing more. This might seem contrary to what you read in the media, but in the UK for example, national debt has actually increased more since 2010 than it did between the the 1970’s and 1990’s.