New to fiverr

frejaolivia

Hi everybody!

I am new to Fiverr! How does it work? I have posted a project I need help with, and have given a max price I can pay.

I have got lot´s of offers, but the prices a very different, and when they haven´t changed the price, when it still say´s 5 dollars, what does that mean? Surely they don´t mean they are willing to do the job for 5 dollar´s or what? Can somebody please give me a bit of insider knowledge to how this works???

Hi frejaolivia, welcome! Normally you have something you want to offer. I do illustrations etc. For me to create a full illustration it would typically be much more than just $5. So, what you do is scale down what you offer into something you can do fairly quickly for that $5 to give them an idea of what you are ‘selling’. As an example, I do quick black and white illustrations for $5, very rough. Once someone likes what they see, then they are able to add to that, say +$10 for detailed linework and cleanup.

You are basically offering a teaser into your skills and then upselling from there and creating a relationship.

Sellers need to give a price when answering to buyer requests, and also have a very limited space to write the answer (only 220 characters). Sometimes, it’s difficult to know how much to charge with the limited info given by the buyer in its ad, so the seller just fills that part with the basic $5.
For example, I’m a translator, and often the buyer request says “I need to translate something from En to Es”, but doesn’t say the length of the text. However, the system makes me give a price, so I just write $5.

Once that you, as a buyer, get some answers to your ad, you might want to check the sellers profiles, read their ratings, and contact them for any further discussion about the order. When you find a seller that you think is a good match for what you need, you’re ready to order from him/her.