Tip: The Four Main Types of Editing

Guest copyedited

Guest copyedited

Hello, I wanted to make sure this type of information was all in one place. I hope it will be helpful for anyone looking for editing gigs. I’m new to Fiverr, but I’ve been in the editorial world for a while. I thought I would try to contribute and connect with the community here.

Happy writing! 🙂

The Four Main Types of Editing:

▲ DEVELOPMENTAL EDITING ▲

Developmental editing can help you develop your project from an initial concept or rough draft. The editor can even consult with you before your project even begins. They can help plan the organization and features of your story. They may:

♦️ Make suggestions about content and presentation

♦️ Write or rewrite text

♦️ Do research

♦️ Suggest additional topics for you to consider

▲ SUBSTANTIVE EDITING ▲

Substantive (sometimes known as “structural”) editing is done once you have the full text. These editors will help you get it into its final form. Which may involve:

♦️ Reordering or rewriting segments of it to improve readability

♦️ Clarity

♦️ Accuracy

♦️ Alert you to inconsistent character behavior or speech

♦️ Help you adjust your language to your desired audience

♦️ Make sure your story has believable dialogue and a plausible plotline

▲ COPYEDITING ▲

Copyeditors work with your text when it is in FINAL or nearly FINAL form. They read each sentence carefully, seeking to fix all errors of spelling, punctuation, capitalization, grammar, and word usage while preserving your meaning and voice. With your permission, they may:

♦️ Rewrite tangled sentences

♦️ Suggest alternative wordings

♦️ They can ensure that your text conforms to a certain style

♦️ Elements such as captions, tables, or footnotes, are checked for uniform style

▲ PROOFREADING ▲