How do I avoid getting scammed by buyers?

chazlyn

So I’m new to Fiverr, and so far I’ve only gotten two messages from two different buyers. Both of them gave me red flags that screamed "this is a bad idea!"

The first wanted me to design a magazine cover for him, and when I asked him for information about his magazine so that I could see if I could help him out, he refused to give me anything other than “I want it to look like this” and showed me covers from a popular magazine. I messaged him several times and he eventually ended up not messaging me back. I think the reason he stopped messaging me was because I asked him if he had images/photos that he had the rights to. I was worried about copyright infringement.

The second buyer wanted me to write a paragraph of copy for them before ordering a gig. I figured that’s a good way to do the work without them having to pay me. Right?

So the question is this, how do I inquire about these concerns without driving away actual buyers, but not ending up screwing myself over?

Yes, you are right, do not do work for free, that is a way to get scammed for free work. And it was good that the other one just stopped messaging you, you are right to ask about images if they will be supplying proper images that they own the rights to.

The issue is you are a new seller, so scammers may target new sellers to try and get free work or work done that they know it not legal. Just stay strong and use your good judgment. Always be very professional in messages that you write to these buyers and if someone down the line ignores you and orders, then do a cancellation right away.

These wouldn’t have been real buyers so you don’t have to worry about scaring them away. A real buyer who needed a magazine cover would have said, yes, I will be supplying you with the images. Just ask politely about stuff and you should be fine.