Does promoting on social media sites really bring sales?

pixelpurfect

Hello fellow fiverrers!

I was just wondering if anyone has made sales from promoting on social media? Not just views but actual sales? If so what social media site has been the most successful for you? I’ve been promoting on Twitter, facebook, and have been posting my work on pinterest. I do get a ton of views by doing this but no sales yet. I’m not complaining because as a newbie I think I’ve been doing pretty good! Just wondering how other sellers are doing with social media and if it’s worth it. 🙂

Sorry if I posted this in the wrong category!

Few days ago I saw fiverr sponsored post on facebook. It was gig of one top rated seller. I wasn’t sure if the seller was the one who is sponsoring his gig, or it was actually fiverr doing it for its users.

So I contacted the seller with private message asking him if he is doing some marketing and what works best for him, what is it that he was doing to become top rated seller? The person responded to me that he does not do any marketing on his gig(s)+, nor on facebook nor anywhere else. Further more the seller said that he doesn’t even has facebook account.

This for me, means two great things:

1. Internet marketing even as easy as facebook ad works, and it works for sure. Now I know that part of the reason why this seller was having so many orders was facebook sponsored link with his gig.
  2. Probably after you reach top rated seller, or something, actually fiverr is doing some marketing for you, helping you to go higher. This is especially handy for those who are no familiar with internet marketing.

Those things are always good to hear.

If you are getting views but no conversion to sales then it’s one of two things…either the traffic you are bringing is not targeted enough traffic or the gigs themselves aren’t that good.