Help: seller reselling copyrighted material

chocohunni

There is a seller on fiverr who sells articles. I worked as a writer for a company which provides articles for clients.

I recently discovered someone was buying articles from me through COMPANY A for $2 and reselling them on fiverr for $30. The seller claims in all his listings he personally writes all articles.

I sent the seller an anonymous message asking for a sample of “his work” and, as expected, he sends me “his work” which is an article I wrote for him a few hours prior.

I have checked with fiverr, and this violates their terms of service - if someone says they are completing their orders, they must complete them themselves - no outsourcing.

I did a little digging, and it turns out that COMPANY A, where the seller outsources his gigs, has a clause in their terms and conditions, which state that for every single article COMPANY A produces, COMPANY A retains ALL INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY RIGHTS and only grants their buyers a license for personal use.

So, the situation is, we have a seller who is taking orders from fiverr, outsourcing them to COMPANY A, and delivering COMPANY A’s articles on fiverr as their own, despite the rights remaining with COMPANY A. In effect the seller is selling material which he doesn’t own the intellectual property rights to, right here on fiverr.

I have checked, rechecked the terms of use of COMPANY A and situation is as I have described. This is illegal.

So, my question is - what should I do?

There are some things in your post that I don’t get and they hinge on the message you say you got from Customer Support. I wish I could see a screenshot of it to read the exact wording. Here is what I don’t get: