Foreign language Seller tip: Be careful how you address Buyers in English!

tallong

I am new to fiverr and I see a lot of posts from sellers asking how to get buyers. Well, you must make a good impression from the start.

In the English language, the salutation is important and it’s tricky. Do not address a potential buyer as ‘Dear’ or ‘Hello dear’. In English ‘dear’ by itself sounds impolite or overly-familiar, because ‘dear’ on its own is a term of endearment (like between husbands and wives). It becomes proper if you add a name or form of address, so always say ‘Dear Name’ or if you don’t know the name ‘Dear Sir’/Dear Madam (formal) or ‘Good morning/Good afternoon’ less formal or ‘Hello’ or ‘Hi’ (informal).

If your English language skills are not strong, keep your sentences short and clear, and use correct spelling and grammar.

Good post!

I think one of the best ways to let the other users know that English isn’t your first language. It’s okay if you stumble with your words, but when talking to one another if you let someone know you speak x-language and English isn’t your native (or vise versa) is a key way to building a good working relationship.

I never expect someone to communicate with me perfectly if their language is not the same as mine, but it does change how I speak to them. I agree, simpler and shorter sentences are often times a great solution for both parties. 🙂

Sometimes we don’t know the gender of someone, that’s why I always say “Hi Fiverr name” or “Hey Fiverr name.” I agree that dear is too familiar, although on occasion I might say “Dear buyer” in the gig instruction section. Let’s also consider the cultural backgrounds of the sellers, in places that were former colonies of England, chances are people speak different than they do in America.

Wonderful post!