I was a skeptic . . . but I'm becoming an impressed skeptic!

redleafconsult

It took a number of years, but in June of 2014, I took the plunge and left my corporate executive job. I have a consulting business that focuses on communication and training development, as well as two smaller streams of income through sea kayak instruction and custom woodwork.

I’ve been doing voiceover work for about 10 years in varying capacities, and decided to put a gig up on Fiverr in August. My first two gigs came in within a day or so . . . and the alert emails fell into my spam folder, so I missed them and the buyers cancelled the orders. About a month later, I got serious and started logging into Fiverr every few hours.

To be honest, it didn’t take much work or time before I was seeing at least a couple of orders per day. Over the past 3 months, I’ve gotten to the point where I’m now bringing in over $1000 per month with about 90 minutes of time dedicated to delivering orders and marketing per week day. In December so far, I brought in over $500 in the first week, and my revenue stream continues to grow at that pace.

I’m shocked. The voiceover work that I do through my consulting business demands literally 20x the prices that I ask on Fiverr . . . but about 30x the amount of time and effort invested in each job. It’s actually more profitable for me per hour to do 12 $4 gigs at 100 words each via Fiverr’s platform than to market, pursue, negotiate, contract, record, deliver, re-record, and re-deliver a $1200 job that requires 30 hours of total investment, minus expenses.

I’m a one-man shop, so I have to do everything from marketing and sales through the voice talent recording, engineering, editing, delivery, AR follow-up, accounting, payroll, and . . . well . . . everything else!

Fiverr is, quite honestly, amazing. I’ll gladly give up a 20% fee for the marketing, AR, and collection services they offer.