Black Friday Sales/Thanksgiving Slow Down

avidblogger

Hello those with sage advice to share. Is anyone trying a Black Friday sale or special Black Friday gig?

Since I’m a writer, I made a special offer (see https://www.fiverr.com/s/6owgoh) where I’m adding an extra 20% to my word count if you order before cybermonday and I made a special gig for it. Then I am sending a note to my previous buyers to promote.

Has anyone else tried this? Had success? Failure? Suggestions? I’m trying to combat the likely slowdown in sales during Thanksgiving week. I also have some concerns about whether I’m going to encourage early sales that would have simply ordered a week later if they weren’t prompted.

Would love to know about what has worked for others.

Appreciatively, - Sukey

As someone who owns a retail business, I’ve learned over the years that when it comes to Black Friday, most consumers are more interested in products they can purchase rather than services that are provided to them. I’m not entirely sure how well the services of Fiver would translate into the rush of merchandise sales usually associated with Black Friday retail sales.

jonbaas, I agree. In part, I’m trying to trade on the novelty of it - when was the last time you heard of a sale on words? It makes me smile. I’d definitely prefer to buy words than stuff, they take up less room in my house. Which is not a whole truth as I’ve basically used books and bookcases as wallpaper.

Reply to @avidblogger: For me it was the consumerism around people’s holidays.

I want to celebrate mine and I don’t want to put things in people’s faces so they don’t celebrate theirs (and relax) it’s NOT a bad idea. Truly just not for me 🙂

I’m a BIG fan of smart discounting. I’m a HUGE fan of marketing 🙂 (See my gigs if you doubt that). And I’m the BIGGEST fan of testing and trying ideas.

This one just isn’t for me on a values base.