How to work with an illustrator

Guest funnydrawingguy

Guest funnydrawingguy

Hi, I’m Tony and I’ve been a seller on fiverr for over two years. I offer my services as an illustrator to buyers here on fiverr. Over all I have had an excellent experience here. The vast majority of people I have worked with have been very pleasant and I have had a lot of fun creating a variety of art I would have never thought of on my own.

One of the biggest problems I run into with my clients is lack of experience working with an illustrator. buyers simply don’t know or understand what I do, how the process works and that this is indeed how I make my living and not just a fun hobby. I know it is an issue with the general public and not just one here on fiverr. I also draw caricatures live at a resort and people are always asking me if this is what I do, or if I have another full time job.

The real discussion that I want to start here is this: What is the best way to organize a store front to inform potential buyers of how the process works without having to spend half my time educating them?

Here is how my process as an illustrator works here on fiverr:

Step 1: Buyer contacts me with an idea/project and I respond with a quote and a timeline.

Step 2: Buyer orders a $5 sketch and I create the sketch(es) based on the description of their project.

Step 3: I deliver the sketches and the customer accepts them or requests revisions. Minor revisions are made in the final art, while major revisions often require additional sketches.

Step 4: The buyer places the final order for the agreed price and I create the art based on the approved sketches and deliver the final on time.

This is how the process works if I am doing a project that involves on illustration. But if I am doing a larger project, such as a children’s book, I also have to create a book dummy, do type/text design, and at some point in the process agree to a contract.