To what extent can clients request revisions?

majidshowghi

Question

To what extent can clients request revisions? How should we respond when they exceed the agreed-upon number of revisions?

I’m a motion designer, and my clients usually start with a clear idea when they place an order. However, after receiving the final video, they often ask for revisions. I understand when it’s due to my mistakes, like using the wrong color or having a lag in the animation – those are on me.

But sometimes, clients ask for changes or additions that weren’t part of the initial script. I feel uncomfortable asking for an extra $10 on a $15 order, maybe because of the culture I grew up in (though I don’t live there now). Still, when I try to be direct and tell them there’s an additional cost, they accuse me of fraud or something similar. Even if they don’t say it outright, they might stop coming back or leave a negative rating on Fiverr's "private feedback," which, let’s be honest, feels quite hypocritical.

I typically allow three revisions but usually end up delivering more – once, I even did 27 renders for a single client!

How do you handle situations like this? I’m especially curious to hear from people from different cultures. Do you stand your ground and explain the extra charges, or do you just give in to keep the client happy?

• Like 2

6 answers to this question

17 hours ago, majidshowghi said:

Do you stand your ground and explain the extra charges, or do you just give in to keep the client happy?

It is clearly stated in my order description (always a custom order) that I offer 1 free "minor" revision. For good customers, I will do multiple minor revisions if necessary, but I always state in the order only 1 minor revision. If it gets out of hand, I refer to the order description that they have in fact approved by confirming the order.

Big revisions are not going to be free. I am not a charity.

• Like 2
  • Up 2

3 hours ago, filipdevaere said:

I am not a charity.