Sellers who write, re-write, edit, etc, would you help me?

emilyrose93

I sell a transcription gig and it does quite well but it’s very time-consuming for a small amount of pay. I am looking to find new gigs to sell, but I’ve never done any of them before and it makes me nervous. I think I’m an okay writer, I speak English as a first language, etc. I am interested in things like writing or re-writing articles, editing, proof-reading. If anybody does a gig like that and would be interested in “mentoring” me a little bit, or just running me through what the gig entails (maybe sending through an example they’ve done) I would appreciate it so much. I would consider buying a gig in exchange for the advice or examples, if necessary. Money is tight in my household and I am trying to save for a new laptop. Thank you again.

I ran an editing gig for two years (just recently took my gigs down), and did quite well (managed to keep 100% positives). I started by offering 5,000 words for $5 and then worked my way down. (Once I had a good number of positive reviews, I lowered the word count, then waited for a few more reviews to come in, lowered again, and so on. This helped me keep up with the competition to start with, and then I had a good reputation that brought in more work.)

I use Microsoft Word for editing. It has a “Track Changes” option that shows every change I make in red. It allows the buyer to see what changes have been made and to either accept or reject them once they have the document. This makes the process MUCH easier, as the buyer receives the completed work, and he/she can adjust the final document as necessary. The buyer can also choose to just accept all changes – no fuss.

I’ve never had anyone try to return an editing job, though I did have several people try to get away with adding in a few extra words, so ALWAYS do a word count BEFORE beginning a project.