How to deal with plagiarism report

silvanostagni

Question

I am an expert in financial regulations. So when I was asked to ghost an article on financial regulations, I thought I had no problems. A plagiarism report counts as plagiarism sentences I wrote simply because a legal website agrees with me (there are only so many ways to say that a specific action is not allowed or that a regulator supervises financial institutions in its jurisdiction); also it counts as plagiarism credited quotes and (credited) sources of information. I am now risking a cancellation I do not need (I am "coming back" from a period of inactivity) for something I feel I have no control. Any suggestion on how to deal with this?

• Like 5
  • Up 1

4 answers to this question

You could let the buyer know what you've told us, that it's counting the quotes that you've done as plagiarism when it shouldn't be etc.

In future maybe run it through a plagiarism checker yourself before delivering it to try to make sure it gives a low figure.

If they still think some sections (that aren't quotes) are too like some other text you could offer to rewrite those sections of the article, while explaining that they weren't plagiarised.

• Like 4

31 minutes ago, uk1000 said:

You could let the buyer know what you've told us, that it's counting the quotes that you've done as plagiarism when it shouldn't be etc.

In future maybe run it through a plagiarism checker yourself before delivering it to try to make sure it gives a low figure.

If they still think some sections (that aren't quotes) are too like some other text you could offer to rewrite those sections of the article, while explaining that they weren't plagiarised.