Things that no one tells you about bodybuilding.

damooch916

And now from the desk of the “truly” casual… 

Here’s a list of things that no one told me before becoming a bodybuilder: 

1. I have to smile more - otherwise you might think I’ll hurt you. 

As a musician, I spent years developing my “deep thought” look. You know that look right? It’s somewhere between “considerate reflection” and that face you make when you’ve walked into a room but can’t remember why. As a bodybuilder - this look was first to go. Bodybuilders spend an enormous amount of time “fake smiling.” Otherwise - it’s just a room full of people assuming I’m in the process of turning green, breaking something and losing my pants. 

2. You start counting reps even when the activity doesn’t include them. 

I have, on more than one occasion, caught myself counting spoon stirs, toothbrush strokes, steps to my kitchen, food bites and less “mundane” reps than the aforementioned. I won’t consider this a problem until I’ve written down my “max rep” in a fitness journal. 

3. Strangers will offer you confession

About twice per day, I’m stopped by a random stranger to ask me about: work out tips, supplements, my bench press, but most notably - for confession.

People feel compelled to tell me that, “they used to look like me and they plan to do it again.” I always smile and offer encouragement … but the truth is, I’m keeping a list and I plan to follow up. So before you go telling me “I’m gonna get back in shape,” just remember: I know where you live slappy, so make with the push-ups. 

4. I might look like I’d break you in half - but the truth is, I’d have to warm up for twenty minutes to actually do it. 

I’m just kidding. I’d break you in half. 

5. Suddenly you lift every thing equally. 

Once you’re at the point where you switch hands when bringing in the groceries - because you need the “reps” to be equal - you’re in some real bodybuilding weirdness.