Artists: a drawing or a picture for your profile?

whianem

Question

I read here that a professional picture makes you look trustworthy. However, I am a digital artist. Isn't it better to show a selfportrait illustration? I mean, this way you show your face and also your drawing skills. But if almost everyone talks about the importance of a real picture there must be a reason. So, here are my doubts. How was your experience? Have you ever tried to use a drawing for your profile? Share your thoughts, I'm all ears (and eyes)

• Like 10

2 answers to this question

Here is the thing;

In some platforms it might be good to have your self portrait as your picture. But in others, they are not. For examble; it is acceptable in instagram to have a drawing. But its better to have a photo in linkedin.

For the sake of your whole online pressence in different platforms to be easily recognizable and uniformed, go for the photo. A good photo is never wrong. A drawing might have a chance to be unsuitable.

For porftolio;

Your avatar is not the show your artwork capabilities. Your galleries are. In each platform, one way or another you have a gallery to show your quality.

BUT!

This all changes if you are a very well known artist. If thats the case, do whatever you want. Flip your middle finger in the avatar! Some might even like it.

• Like 5
  • Up 1
  • Thanks 2

14 hours ago, whianem said:

However, I am a digital artist. Isn't it better to show a selfportrait illustration?

There are many top-rated sellers and high-performing sellers on the platform who use their own art, avatar, or logo for their profile picture. In your case, it is nice to see your self-portrait illustration.

I read here that a professional picture makes you look trustworthy.

It does! But it isn't the only way to make yourself look trustworthy and credible.

But if almost everyone talks about the importance of a real picture there must be a reason.