Why is customer support so horrible?

wiebesworks

Question

Customer support, and I use this term very loosely as it doesn't fit, is a real pain in the behind.

All I am getting is robotic replies with a copy pasted reference to their rules, that are not at all relevant or helpful. When I persevere and finally reach a live person, the first thing they will do is see if they can actually turn it around and admonish me instead for some perceived wrongdoing. It feels like they are actively trying to dissuade you from seeking support. Why? Why do you have to be like this Fiverr?

Backstory:

I am a freelancer. Through consistent effort and a bit of luck I managed to gain 80/80 5-star ratings on Fiverr. My main product is LIVE chess lessons. For those, it's obvious that people have to schedule with me, and show up for the session. It's not like a product I can create and deliver without their cooperation. I've had it happen multiple times now that people order and then go unresponsive. Or we schedule, and they don't show up.... In both of these situations I am not allowed to hit deliver, since there is no product delivered, but these people do take up my timeslots when scheduled! Also when I cancel, my completion rate goes down... so I just cannot win here.