Is it a good strategy to start cheap

belukha

Hi everyone. I am new to the platform. I actually had another account for a few months but I had to change the username. 

Anyway, I never made any sales yet.

I am an artist and I offer illustration gigs. At first I had started with the prices which was deserved in my opinion. After a few months, I got no clients. Then I thought if it's better to start cheap then as I make sales I can increase the price later. 

Do you people think it is a good strategy? What advice you can give to me about being recognised in the platform, and at least make first sale? 

• Like 18

No offend but nowadays cheap pricing doesn't attract quality/genuine buyer at all. They think the service will be worst or the seller isn't professional or not experienced enough. What should be the tips for these situations.

p.s. most of the time I get spam massages but not genuine buyer. is it for cheap pricing? 

Edited by sunysuny998
  • Like 12

Thanks everyone for answering.

16 hours ago, vickiespencer said:

When I started on Fiverr I sold for $5 what I sell for $80 now. 

I am also planning to start from $5 to have more clients but I doubt it's working for me.

11 hours ago, sunysuny998 said:

No offend but nowadays cheap pricing doesn't attract quality/genuine buyer at all. They think the service will be worst or the seller isn't professional or not experienced enough. What should be the tips for these situations.

p.s. most of the time I get spam massages but not genuine buyer. is it for cheap pricing? 

I somehow agree with @sunysuny998 on this, I add my illustrations to show the quality of my work but I don't know if they are convincing people that I am not doing $5 worth work. (I also get too many spammer especially about translation gigs).

But I don't know how else I would attract them since my social media accounts aren't popular enough to get clients from.

Waiting for more opinions on this,

Everyone have a great day.

Edited by belukha