Verifying freelancer identity prior to hire

boomfiverr

Question

I have had some bad experiences on Fiverr (and other freelancer websites) with fake accounts.

I intend to pay freelancers through Fiverr, however, I am planning to screen freelancers prior to hiring them.  I want to use a tool called OnFido for verifying identity documents (like passport, drivers license etc) along with a selfie.  If a freelancer declines to complete the screening (or fails) I will not hire them.

Before I request this of freelancers, I'd like to confirm this does not violate Fiverr terms of service.  Any thoughts?

• Like 8
  • Haha 4

9 hours ago, boomfiverr said:

Before I request this of freelancers, I'd like to confirm this does not violate Fiverr terms of service.  Any thoughts?

Fiverr's Terms of Service strictly forbid to ask for personal contact information, so yes, it does violate them.

Not to mention that Fiverr is meant to be an anonymous platform.

If you want to hire sellers with a verified identity and credentials, use Fiverr Pro. They won't show you their IDs (because nobody in their right mind would show their ID to a random stranger on the internet), but at least you'll know that they have been verified by Fiverr and that they are who they say they are.

• Like 8
  • Up 6

47 minutes ago, boomfiverr said:

Before I request this of freelancers, I'd like to confirm this does not violate Fiverr terms of service.  

Would you share personal documents with a random buyer over the internet if you were a freelancer? I guess that answers your question 🙂 It's not about breaking the rules, it's way too much and something that no one would agree with. I had people ask for an NDA after I worked on their stuff and I canceled just because I didn't want to sign anything online. Let alone share my identity and personal documents...

Your request might be genuine, but it seems like identity theft in the eye of any freelancer. 

Edited by donnovan86
  • Like 11
  • Up 6