How do I know a buyer is legit?

dlam13

I recently got an inbox message from a buyer asking me about the tasks I am able to do and if I was willing to work on a longer term project. This is my first time on fiverr, so I am unsure how buyers usually approach sellers on here. They want to pay me on their own payroll service instead of on fiverr due to a fee fiverr apparently charges the buyer? Is that allowed? Is submitting a resume and going through an interview process also normal?

• Like 43
  • Sad 4
  • Up 2
  • Thanks 1

5 minutes ago, theratypist said:

If you've read the Fiverr terms of service, its not allowed to transact or communicate outside of Fiverr. I would suggest you politely remind the buyer that it isn't allowed. The thing is you would never be 100% sure if a buyer is "legit" especially for ones you don't have any working history with, but stuff like these are clear signs that this buyer is intentionally trying to circumvent the system by getting you out. Should you break these rules as well your account would be banned. 

Thank you for clarifying! I was hesitant when they told me about that, but now I know

• Like 36
  • Congrats! 1
  • Up 1

This is where all the red flags came together at once. He talks about "long-term cooperation" without even knowing who you are or how well you do the job, and immediately offers to violate Fiverr ToS.

Just remember - good serious buyers will never ask you to go out of Fiverr. Why? Because working through Fiverr is safe for both seller and buyer. 

And just one more recommendation - never start your work, until the order is active (means, you sent an offer and the buyer accepted it, or the buyer ordered one of your gigs, and paid for it) 

• Like 43
  • Thanks 2

• 2 weeks later...