Only been here a few weeks!

aliciaarroyo6

I have only been on the platform for a few weeks but I am excited to get started and hopefully meet some people. I have about 15 years experience as a graphic designer and about 5 years as a social media expert.  

My goal is to be able to make this my full time job.  I am a single mom and I don't have much of a support system so I need some flexibility to raise my kids. I am hopeful that this will be the way... I am getting a bit discourage though.  So far the only messages that I get are spam messages. What is everyone else experience? How do you get real customers? Any help or feedback would be welcomed.

• Like 14
  • Up 1

Welcome! I have been on here a week, and all I get is spam messages right now. I wish you luck and hope you get some gigs. I am just sitting back and waiting for them, I do keep an eye on the Buying request, but they are spam it seems as well, but I have seen people get some decent gigs out of it. I hope all goes well for you.

Edited by levi925
  • Like 8

15 minutes ago, aliciaarroyo6 said:

My goal is to be able to make this my full time job.  I am a single mom and I don't have much of a support system so I need some flexibility to raise my kids. I am hopeful that this will be the way... I am getting a bit discourage though.  So far the only messages that I get are spam messages. What is everyone else experience? How do you get real customers? Any help or feedback would be welcomed.

Welcome to the forum @aliciaarroyo6!

If you're planning on making this your full-time job, don't expect it to happen quickly. It takes time to build a business. Business also fluctuates each month, so you need to have extra in reserves to cover the months that you may have no orders or a few orders. I was lucky to be able to replace my day job fairly quickly and maintain a steady stream of orders. It has been great working from home and being present for my kids.