7 essentials for your voice-over home studio

smashradio

Has anyone told you that you have a golden voice and should try your hand at voice acting? Or perhaps you've already tried but are struggling to build a great-sounding home studio? 

Even the best voice needs a well-equipped studio to sound good. 

Even after eleven years in the business, I'm still learning about acoustics, gear, and everything needed to produce a high-quality voice-over. 

Here's my list of seven home studio essentials if you want to become a voice-over actor. 

This list is based on a blog post I wrote (in Norwegian). This is a shortened and translated version. 

#1 – A good microphone

This is a given. You don't want to be working with cheap USB microphones. It might be enough for your Youtube channel, but not if you plan to take this seriously. 

With that said, there's a catch to buying expensive microphones: they can be very sensitive and, therefore, less forgiving of a poorly treated recording space. 

You also need to identify which microphone works best with your voice. For me, that's Røde Broadcaster for audiobooks and Sennheiser MKH416 for almost everything else. 

The latter has become an "industry standard" in promo and commercial work and is used by many of the top VAs. Other tried and tested microphones for voice-overs are the Neumann TLM 101, 103, and U87. 

Just remember: the best mic doesn't have to be the most expensive. It depends on your voice, studio, and what it will be used for. 

#2 – Mic accessories

The accessories you choose will also affect the sound quality you can produce. You should have a: 

• Pop filter. This prevents plosives from hitting the microphone membrane. It's usually made of nylon or metal mesh. It can't perform miracles, so training to avoid plosives in the first place is vital.