Looking for some advice - Getting fewer orders recently

thisisstrange

I'm a Pro Seller here, I have an overall good rating, I get reviews on almost 70% of my orders, and 99% of those are 5 star ratings. 

I'm priced within range or below competitors in my area (book editing), and I the service I offer is more comprehensive than most sellers in my area. 

However, within the last month my orders have reduced drastically. I honestly don't track my orders (perhaps I should), but it seems like I've lost anywhere from a third to a half the number of orders and messages (including buyers who decided not to order) that I usually get.

Is this a slow period for anyone else? Fiverr is my main source of income and has been over about 1.5 years now. I've done well on here and enjoy the work I do. I'm not sure what's happened or why I'm getting fewer messages and orders. Is Fiverr on a whole experiencing a down period or do I need to change things up? If so, what?

• Like 15

There are about four other threads on this topic. The answer is yes, it's a slow time for everyone. I even checked my competitors and they aren't getting orders either. It's also a hard time for people. Gas, groceries, rent, etc have all gone up, so many small businesses are simply doing their own work now. 

This is a great time for us to update our gigs. 

Good luck!

• Like 14

I canceled an order because the buyer wanted me not to count repeated phrases but instead correct them with search and replace. I tried to cancel a second order because the buyer continually was rude by communicating in all caps, but that buyer would not cancel. Shortly after, I experienced a lack of orders for about two weeks. Thank goodness for my regulars.

Another possible issue is the "secret" reviews that buyers get to leave. I imagine the buyer who would not cancel left me a less than stellar "secret" review even though she didn't leave a public one. 

• Like 13